Oh Christmas Tree, Oh Christmas Tree

When I was a little kid, one of my favorite days of the entire year was the day my mom would bring up all the boxes of Christmas decorations from the basement. I loved nothing more than helping her slowly transform our house into a magically ephemeral winter wonderland.

Countless pre-Christmas hours of my childhood were spent rearranging the little figurines in the nativity set my grandfather had crafted years before, anxiously awaiting sunset so I could go room to room and turn on all the candles in our windows, and of course, picking out my favorite ornaments and painstakingly deciding where to place them on the Christmas tree—even if my mom was really the one with the final say.

With all the hold-ups with our apartment this fall, I was a little nervous that we wouldn’t be in in time to get a tree, but the universe was on my side and we moved in with time to spare for a little holiday decorating, yay! We stopped in at the little tree stand by our apartment building the other night and picked out the cutest, squattiest tree there was, and I have to say…it might be my favorite one yet. I’m in love with the ‘lil guy:

Isn't he cute?

Isn’t he cute? And yes, that is indeed a big pierogi ornament front and center

My collection of ornaments consists mostly of ones from my Aunt Sue, who bought me one every year until I was in my 20's, and my friend Jocelyn who's made me a bunch of lovely little felted desserts.

My collection of ornaments comes mostly from my Aunt Sue, who bought me one every year until I was in my 20’s, and my friend Jocelyn, who’s made me a bunch of lovely little felted desserts.

And now I think it’s time to light my orange and clove candle and do some hip openers by the Christmas tree. I am certainly feeling the holiday spirit over here at Dan Harbor—it’s about time…

Leave a Reply

