Get Goal-ing

My daily intention yesterday was to “Take Care of Business”, and I’m happy to report that I spent my day doing just that. After #1 on my list, “Write a Blog Post”, I jumped right into #2, “Update My Goals”. Now to anyone who doesn’t work at lululemon, that might look like a funny sentence, but all my ladies and lads of Luon out there know exactly what I’m talking about.

The first thing that made me fall in love with lululemon is their passion and commitment to goal setting. For those of you who don’t know, you can walk into any lululemon store in the world and find a little section of the store devoted to showcasing the 1, 5, and 10 years goals of every single person who works there. Amazing, right? They aren’t just company-related goals either. They’re goals about marathon running, dream home building, small business starting, novel writing, masters degree earning, and everything in between. When I first started working for the company it blew my mind that they were legitimately interested in what my biggest life goals were, and it really got me thinking…wait, what are my biggest life goals? 

So now, I sit down a few times a year and review my goals. I remove some that might not interest me anymore, I add any new ones that have come up, I cross off the ones that I’ve accomplished (woohoo!), and I just spend some time getting clear on where I’m at vs. where I’d like to be, which is exactly what I focused on yesterday afternoon (because hey, you have to know what your goals are before you can really get down to business, right?).

Want some resources to get started writing your own goals ? Check out this video with lululemon founder Chip Wilson and download lululemon’s goal setting worksheet here to get started:


Want to know what some of my goals are? Well…in the next 6 months I’d like to have 1,000
Facebook and Twitter followers—which I could use your help with, share the 12MOL love! In the next five years I’d like to spend a summer living abroad in Europe (perhaps doing some sort of international lent?), and in the next 10 years, my BHAG (big hairy audacious goal) is to write a book about 12MOL—woah. 

What are your goals?

 

Leave a Reply

