Intention Setting, Week 2

As predicted, last week was a bit of a doozy (in a beautiful, yogic sort of way) and my time to do anything besides drive back and forth to Kalamazoo, practice yoga, and eat, was severely limited. A new week is upon us though, and tier one of my training has concluded so I’m back to a somewhat normal schedule for the time being. In fact, I’m in the midst of enjoying a real day off right now, complete with a mani/pedi and some sunbathing on the back porch. Ahhh, that’s more like it…

Here’s what you missed intention-wise while I was busy getting bendy and blissed-out last week:

9.17.13: Oh boy, this day was a real test in vairagya. My normal 1.5 hour commute to teacher training ended up taking a solid 3 hours due to an accident on the highway, making me over an hour late to Sangha. As much as I tried to let it go and keep it from getting the best of me, it really put a damper on my day (I was extra bummed because the traffic made me miss a good chunk of the lecture on twists, my absolute favorite, which was the asana category being covered that day). Daily intention to the rescue though, right? I tried, I did. In fact, I wrote down 7 intentions during my lunch break that I tried desperately to adhere to for the remainder of the day, but I just couldn’t snap out of the funk I was in. So…I made the intention to accept that I was mentally and physically exhausted and that it was ok. Every day isn’t going to be perfect and bad days happen to the best of us. Tomorrow is a new day, always.

9.18.13: Release all expectations. A quote from my yoga teacher Karina: “An expectation is a disappointment that hasn’t happened yet”.

9.19.13: Self doubt. Remember this quote from Gabrielle Bernstein’s  May Cause Miracles talk at Wanderlust Vermont: “What we admire in others is the parts of ourselves that we may not have developed or expressed yet”. YES.

9.20.13: Don’t pass judgement on others, or at least become aware of how often I do.

9.21.13 (my last day of training): Commit to following through with my YTT homework for the next few months: asana, meditation, bandha, and relaxation practice, reading, and a book report (ha!).

9.22.13: That time I forgot to take off the Sunday after my 8-day yoga training and had to work all day. Yep. I was so tired that I couldn’t even conjure up one lousy intention besides just making it through the day. Does that count?

9.23.13: RELAX (yes, I have to tell myself to do this)

expectations

p.s. Happy Fall!

 

3 thoughts on “Intention Setting, Week 2

Leave a Reply

