Ukulele Lovin’ Week 2

Here’s my progress report for 18 days of ukulele strummin’:

  • Pinkelele is all packed up and ready to go home to the Amazon.com warehouse. I’m a little sad to see her go, but the more I’ve been practicing on Dan’s uke, the more attached I’m growing. Might be time to start brainstorming a name for her…
  • I officially finished all 7 lessons in my Learning Ukulele in 7 Days app and can now play classics like, “Hush Little Baby”, “La Paloma”, “Aloha ‘Oe”, “I Shall Not Be Moved”, and “Jetzt Kommen Die Lustigen Tage”—because everyone loves a good little German diddy on the ukulele, right?
  • I know 4 chords: C, G, G7, and F, and have been practicing changing between them with a decent level of success.
  • Uke came to the Cape with us last weekend and made her beach debut. Talk about the perfect beach instrument, I think that’s where ukuleles were made to be played.
  • I serenaded my family with this song (anyone want to name that tune?), to which my mom declared, “She’s a genius!”. Gotta love a little motherly encouragement:   

So, that’s where I’m at folks. I’ve decided that my focus for the rest of the month is to learn “Umbrella” by Rihanna, which I’ve chosen as my big ukulele finale song.  My goal is to play and sing the whole thing, but since that’s definitely a BHAG (big, hairy, audacious, goal), I might have to line up a plan B. Time will tell…

And now since the “real feel” temperature of the day is 103˚F, I think it’s about time I went to the beach. Holy heatwave, good thing it’s never too hot to play the ukulele…

 

 

One thought on “Ukulele Lovin’ Week 2

Leave a Reply

