Moving On…

Now that I’ve finally figured out what to eat (for the most part), I’ll quit my b**chin’ and get on with it. Moving on…

I found this great portion control reference from WebMD the other day that has a list of what a serving of some popular foods should look like:

  • one slice of whole-grain bread
  • 1/2 cup of cooked rice or pasta
  • 1/2 cup of mashed potatoes
  • three to four small crackers
  • one small pancake or waffle
  • two medium-sized cookies
  • 1/2 cup cooked vegetables
  • 1 cup (four leaves) lettuce
  • one small baked potato
  • 3/4 cup vegetable juice
  • one medium apple
  • 1/2 grapefruit or mango
  • 1/2 cup berries
  • 1 cup yogurt or milk
  • 1 1/2 ounces of cheddar cheese
  • one small chicken breast
  • one medium pork chop
  • 1/4 pound hamburger patty

Most of it seems pretty reasonable, but I’m really having a hard time with the idea of only eating 3-4 crackers, or even worse: just 1 pancake (who has ever done this in the history of the world?). It makes me wonder if for the remainder of this challenge I should refer to my customized food guide from Canada and shoot to eat the recommended servings from each food group per day. For instance, I could eat 5 pancakes at breakfast, but that would mean I’ve used up 5 of my allotted 7 grain servings for the day, only allowing me 2 remaining for both lunch and dinner.

Any thoughts? Or any great iPhone apps for tracking this?

And on another note, I’ve officially lost 4lbs. from eating smaller portions (I have not made any adjustments to my exercise plan, so this is 100% from diet alone). On the other hand, it looks like Fanne has put on 3lbs since the last time I weighed her. You’d think I was feeding her my extra servings or something…

3 thoughts on “Moving On…

  1. Hi Danne,

    I totally think you are on the right track. At least that’s what I’ve been assuming too. Sort of like weight watchers (lol) you have allotted amounts of servings from each group per day and you can use/enjoy them however you like. I have found an iPhone app that tracks this pretty well, it’s called Portions and it uses the Canada Food guide as a reference. Its not a free one, unfortunately. So, I’m only a few days into it, but looking forward to this portion stuff becoming a healthy habit!

Leave a Reply

