I Know This Much Is True…About Smoothies

Over the past 28 days I’ve learned a thing or two about making smoothies. Here are a few little tid-bits of knowledge I thought I’d share:

  1. Smoothies are super quick to make and clean-up is just as fast. For whatever reason I had this assumption that I’d need a ton of extra time in the morning to prepare my morning smoothie, but that hasn’t been the case at all. In reality, they take no more than 5 minutes to make, and all you really need to do to clean-up is rinse the blender. Piece o’ cake.
  2. Making smoothies at home is really inexpensive. Another assumption I had is that I’d be spending a good portion of my paycheck on smoothie-making materials, but again, totally untrue. You initially need to stock up on a few things, but I’ve found that as long as I have a bunch of frozen fruit on hand (which I’ve been getting at Trader Joe’s because their prices are awesome), a few different kinds of milk (I like coconut and almond), some plain yogurt, maybe a juice or 2, and some add-ins like Flaxseeds or Chia Seeds, you’re good to go. The ingredients will go a lot further than you think they will too.
  3. The best way to eat your greens is to drink them. Don’t be afraid of the green smoothie, it’s such a good way to make sure you’re getting your greens. I’ve found that you can toss a huge handful of kale or spinach into any smoothie and it doesn’t effect the taste in the slightest. Amazing, right?
  4. Just like with greens, it’s easy to sneak in other super healthy add-ins. I’ve been tossing a tablespoon of Chis Seeds or Flaxseeds into my smoothie each morning and you don’t taste them at all, but they’re chock-full of fiber, omega-3s, and protein. Wheat germ, sunflower seeds, and nut butter are also great add-ins.
  5. To make your blender happy, even a Vitamix, load ingredients in the following order: Liquids (juices, milks), solids (bananas, non-frozen fruit), frozens (fruit and ice).

And woah, there’s only 3 days left of this challenge—any last minute smoothie recipe recommendations?

p.s. Bonus points to anyone who got my book reference in the title

2 thoughts on “I Know This Much Is True…About Smoothies

  1. My personal favorite smoothie is my chocolate, peanut butter, banana smoothie. It sounds so bad, but is actually pretty healthy if you make it right 🙂

    My version is 1 cup of chocolate soy milk, 1 banana, a big tablespoon of peanut butter and a cup of ice cubes. Super simple and tastes like a milkshake!

Leave a Reply

