Tim Gunn’s 10 Essentials

Aside from the realization that I possess a stupid amount of clothing, this month’s other big observation is that my wardrobe lacks pieces that could be described as timeless and versatile. The items that I picked for my 6 were literally the only nondescript things that I could find in the visual cacophony of my closet. Hmmm, maybe it’s finally time to stop dressing like a 5-year-old girl…

Although I’ll probably make my own list at the end of the month based on my personal experience with sixing, here’s Tim Gunn’s list of must-haves—you know, the things that are actually worth paying more than $15 for.

Tim Gunn’s 10 Essential Items Every Woman Needs

• Basic black dress
• Trench coat
• Classic dress pants
• Classic white shirt
• Skirt
• Blazer
• Day dress
• Cashmere sweater
• Jeans
• A comfortable alternative to a sweatsuit

Looks like it’s time for a sustainable shopping spree to fill in the blanks, bummer…

One thought on “Tim Gunn’s 10 Essentials

  1. Try places like Goodwill, Second Time Around, and eBay for your 10 essentials first! (Just make sure you are in the mood to paw through a lot of junk to get to the good finds.) Since I've been on tilt about not buying new clothing, I went shopping at the Goodwill store (the huge one on Melnea Cass) and I came away with three pairs of pants (including a pair of classic dress pants, take that, Tim Gunn!), two dresses, and a belt for under $30! I love my new-old clothes.

Leave a Reply

